ZPL Concludes 4th Season with F&A United as Defending Champions


The Zahid Premier League (ZPL) recently concluded its fourth season of cricket with ten teams competing for the Tournament Cup. At the opening ceremony, Dr. Zico highlighted the importance of time keeping in every aspect of life, as well as the importance of respect for others.

This season was extremely competitive and all teams played exceptionally well, but the most notable performance was when Altaf from the Wared Warriors scored a record century against ZTG.

The four teams to reach the Semi Finals were F&A United, Altaaqa, ZG United and Wared Warriors. In the first semi final match, F&A had an easy win over Wared Warriors, reaching the finals for the third season in a row. F&A scored 120 for 6 in 12 overs and Wared managed only 94/8 in 12 overs. Abdul Rahman and Hafeez were the top scorers for F&A with 34 and 25 respectively.

The semi final match between Altaaqa and ZG United was more suspenseful, and it was the very last ball that determined Altaaqa would advance to the final for the second year in a row. ZG United scored 93 for 7 in 12 overs, while Altaaqa scored 94 for 8 in 12 overs. Top scorers were ZG United’s Omer and Moiz with 18 and 20 respectively, and Altaaqa’s Farouk and Asad with 25 and 20 respectively. Only 10 runs were required in the last over but Abbas bowled superbly, giving 5 runs in 5 balls. Despite 2 dropped catches and 5 required on the last ball, Altaaqa got a wide ball and ran 4 to get the victory.

The final match began with Altaaqa’s Faizan getting two wickets, followed by F&A’s skipper, Hammad, producing 65 runs with 4 sixes using his long handle. Altaaqa managed 122/4 in 14 overs and leading scorers were Kamran with 20 runs, Imran Shahid with 24 runs and Asad with 23 runs. However, with support from Imran Mehmoud with 53 runs, F&A ended with a total of 169 runs in 14 overs and were the champions for the third consecutive year.

Hammad, Nadeem, Hafeez and Baber all demonstrated great performances for F&A, and Hammad was declared Man of the Final.

Umpires Kumar Krishnan and S. Azam Jalees supervised the final match. In attendance were Zahid Group Vice President of Group Affairs, Mr. Amr Khashoggi; Managing Director of Altaaqa, Mr. Emad Mukhalalaty; Corporate Consultant, Dr. Z. K. Raychouni; and other senior management and managers including Mr. Ghazanfar Ali, Mr. Eyad El Sharif, Mr. Hassan Khalil and Mr. Iftekar Khan.

Mr. Amr Khashoggi recognized the efforts of Mr. Samiruddin, ZPL President, and the committee members for successfully conducting another season of the Zahid Premier League. He also mentioned that Zahid Management recognizes the importance of cricket in the lives of employees and in the spirit of the Group’s shared values and, as a result, will continue to support ZPL.


Following the finals was a ceremony at the Laasani Hotel where awards were given to the teams, umpires and committee members for individual performances. Hammad Ahmed (F&A) received Man of the Final; Azeez Akbar (CVD) received Best Batsman; Imran Sher (CVD) received Best Bowler; Altaf (Wared) received Centurion; Omar Hanif (ZG United) received Best All Rounder; Imran Mahmoud (F&A) received Man of the Tournament; Kamran (Altaaqa) received Maximum Sixes; Mr. Altaf (TAMGO Falcons) received Fair Play; and Mr. Fayez Sheikh received Best Umpire.

In closing the awards ceremony, Mr. Samir thanked all participants and Zahid Management for their support, particularly Mr. Amr Khashoggi, the sponsor of ZPL.